Ava: Christmas Traditions

3 Dec
xmas traditionsIt’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year!!
Hey guys, It’s Ava! OMG… CHRISTMAS IS IN 22 DAYS!! EEEP… I am SOOOO excited, this is the best part of the year where we get to drink hot cocoa by the fire, listen to Christmas songs and watch Christmas movies. Decorate trees and get together with family. I have some different holiday guides to share with you, to make your Christmas UNFORGETTABLE!!!!
Today I want to share with you my families Christmas traditions – my family has a bunch of Christmas traditions. Even ones that started a while ago. My grandparents were dairy farmers, so they had to schedule gift time around the time that the cows had to be milked. My mom and her brothers and sister would go to midnight mass on Christmas Eve night and when they got back at 1am they would open their gifts and eat Christmas dinner for 4 hours in the middle of the night!!! Then my grandpa would have to get up at 5am and milk the cows. So that is why my mom’s side comes to celebrate Christmas at our house on Christmas eve. My own little family opens our presents on Christmas morning. Another tradition of ours is going to the Santa Claus parade. When we get back we have our first fire of the season and eat clementines and drink cocoa. While watching a Charlie Brown Christmas, of course!! Another tradition is giving back to the community. We know EVERYONE loves to receive, but you also need to give. Its the circle of life!
Circle…… I have given a gift to a child in need from the Chum Christmas Wish Foundation several years in a row. Also I have donated money to a person from a third world country through KIVA who wanted to start a business but needed financial help. This year, since I live in a community with a lot of poverty and people with mental health issues, I have chosen 2 of my favorite neighbors who I wave to all the time on my way to school.They live in psychiatric boarding homes and have very little. I will give them each a Tim Horton’s gift card because they love coffee. Those are a few of my family traditions!
So that’s it! Do you holiday traditions? Tell us in the comments below, tweet us @BlogThree or email us at blogthreegirls@gmail.com
4 Responses to “Ava: Christmas Traditions”

  1. missmacymoo December 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Ava, I love your Christmas traditions. I like knowing a little more about your family and love that you are so generous!

  2. Nellie December 3, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    What a beautiful post Ava! You are awesome for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

